Candidate forum videos on July 19th

On July 19th at the Bruce R. Watkins Cultural Heritage Center, the Kansas City Missouri branch of the NAACP held a candidates forum.  The event ran from 6 p.m to 9 p.m. and included candidates for The Missouri House & Senate and the Jackson County Sheriff election. The candidates were allowed a one minute introduction and one minute for final remarks. Answers to the questions were limited to two minutes. The questions were ask by a panel of moderators and the questions came from both the NAACP KCMO Political Action Committee and the audience. Questions from the audience were screened and delivered by the moderators.

The workers at the event were.

Anita L. Russell President NAACP KCMO Branch
Eugene Stanifer Jr. NAACP KCMO PAC Chairman (reception and registration)
Michael N. Downing NAACP KCMO PAC Interim Chairman (session introductions)
Annmarie Jackson (reception and registration)
Rosa James (timekeeper)
MaryAnn Greyson (visual aids)
Henry E. Lyons President NAACP Olathe Branch (moderator session 1)
Ronald Finley Esq.(moderator session 1 & 2)
Dr. Joyce Downing (moderator session 2)
Arimeta DuPree Esq. (moderator session 2)


The first session  covered the Jackson County Sheriff candidates and the candidates for the Missouri State 7th District. Present from left to right were Jason Holsman for State Senate, Dwon Littlejohn and Randy Poletis for Sheriff.

The second session covered the Missouri State House candidates. Present from left to right were Brandon Ellington for District 22;  Erik K. Stafford, Randy D. Dunn and Derron L. Black for District  23;  Sarah Gillooly, Judy Morgan and Jonathan Sternberg for District 24; and Tom McDonald for District 28.

This entry was posted in Education. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Refresh Image


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: